Blessings

Below are the words to Laura Story’s “Blessings” read them after I share with you something God put on my heart the other day.
There is a lady I work with that says she is a Christian. She is negative, never happy, always complaining about her job, her husband, crying about everything under the sun.
I won’t negate her feelings, we all have them, but how is it that someone that professes to be a Christian has that much to gripe about? This gave me food for thought…. so one day, she comes up to me, starts in about how miserable her life is, I had had enough. I asked her if she believes Jesus Christ died for her… she says “yes”, then I asked her if she believes that we are walking in the world but not OF this world, and she agreed…

So I asked her why the gloom and doom?  Does she not know that Jesus Christ nailed all of that too the cross.  To stop remembering the past sins and holding them against herself and her husband but that the Father remembers them no more! As far as the “East is to the West!”

I don’t worry about worldly things.  I could care less who’s president, I don’t know who my governor is right now, and this Hostess Twinkie bread thing?  I love em, but hey… the end times are here… gotta expect some of this stuff to come up, right?  So I don’t worry about it.  I concern myself with how my brothers and sisters are faring…if they need an extra boost.  I concern myself with making my wife smile, and my kids grow with morales and fortitude… I focus my heart and mind on the eternal things… and it helps alot!  It doesn’t mean I don’t care about what goes on around me, I see it, but I don’t let it AFFECT ME!  It doesn’t define my mood or WHO I am in Christ Jesus… 😉  Here is why:

Many of you know my background, if not, I’ll share a little. I am married to my third wife, not because I divorced my first two, but because THEY wanted out. I was abused as a child, mentally and physically. Didn’t have a silver spoon in my mouth, so I had to struggle through. My parents both did drugs as i grew up. My stepfather was a member of the Ohio Mafia, and sold drugs right out of the house.
As a matter of fact, I almost lost my mom and sister to intruders because of it. As a teenager, I would pilfer drugs out of the house and sell them so I could feed my addiction to speed, acid, and marijuana. I watched helplessly on numerous occasions while my mom was beaten to a pulp and if I looked the wrong way I would get a couple slaps for good measure. One day when I was about 3 or four (yes, I remember) My dad couldn’t get my mom to stop screaming, so he yanked me out of bed and shoved a knife against my neck and told her if she didn’t shut up he would slit my throat. After she shut up, he threw me down the stairs (no account for brain damage there is there?)
When I was in the Navy, I saw a lot of pain. My first wife slept around on me while I was serving my country, no matter how faithful I was, she would always badger me about how I too was sleeping around! She liked to get drunk and beat me (wow, a girl beating a man? hmmm)
She finally left town with her boyfriend and my kids, who I was robbed from trying to raise them up right. I had a best friend who had had enough and I got to walk in a see his brains splattered all over the wall and pull his daughter away from trying to grab some of it!
Those are just the highlights….
Now. I have lost my house from my first marriage, millions of dollars down the drain over the years… years and years of alcohol abuse from drinking every single day…
God intervened on every single one of those occasions, even if I don’t choose to acknowledge it.
All the while, He was seeking me. I came to Him the first time in 1985, really screwed that up…until the last straw was in 2006 when I almost overdosed on alcohol, even with the DUI the year before.
I said all this to say this. in 2008, I met my soul mate, she didn’t change me cause God was working on her too…. but she got me intrigued about going back to church, and then my life changed for GOOD! We opened up a Christian bookstore, with much difficulty but MANY blessings! We closed, but still maintain the ministry end of it. I am on the board at my church, working with the youth, never worrying about money, or where it’s coming from cause God provides…… and then I heard this song. And it just says it all. Thanks for reading!
“Blessings”

We pray for blessings
We pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering
All the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love is way too much to give us lesser things

‘Cause what if your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

We pray for wisdom
Your voice to hear
We cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt your goodness, we doubt your love
As if every promise from Your Word is not enough
All the while, You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe

When friends betray us
When darkness seems to win
We know that pain reminds this heart
That this is not our home

What if my greatest disappointments
Or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy
What if trials of this life
The rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are your mercies in disguise

4 thoughts on “Blessings”

  1. Mike, this brought tears to my eyes. I read several of your different entries. I think you have made it this far because you have a tender heart. I also feel you are a good person, and really try hard to be nice to folks. Some people are open to it, some aren’t. When they aren’t, don’t take it personally. Each person has to come to it on their own. I have told you before that I am not particularly religous, but am more of the “spiritual” persuasion. I have seen some really hard times in my life, too, and have come to the conclusion that you can only do so much. Each of us has to find our own way. All you can do is show the direction and then pray they will follow. Like me, you have forgiven the people that mistreated you in the past, but you haven’t forgotten. You never will. It is part of what made you, you. Time is a great healer. I see some of your family trying to turn themselves around. I know that certain of them feel in their heart that they did wrong. They are trying the best they can to make things right, but are probably ashamed of their previous behaviors. Men seem to have a hard time talking about things, and apologizing. Just leave your own heart open to their message. And, remember, too, that you cannot save anyone from themselves. Your friend who killed himself…. that is the cowards way out, and all they do is leave behind unanswered questions and a lot of guilt. Never feel guilty over someone else’s actions. They alone are responsible for them. You have no control over someone else’s behavior. Just yours. Don’t try too hard to “convert” anyone. Each person has their own idea of religion and politics, and all the pushing in the world won’t change their mind. All you can do is give the facts and hope they see the light. Don’t allow the woman you talked about to take her anger out on you. Maybe you did speak too soon. I know people like that. The thing that makes them mad is that they know you are right and they are unwilling to make the changes. If the only thing you accomplish in this life is to better yourself, and raise a fine family, then you have done more than many, many have done. Don’t give up the fight. And I can only hope that something I may have said will help you just a little bit. Judy

Leave a Reply

