Mike’s Monday Meanderings

coollogo_com-228442540

Better late than never! So, in Acts 20:35 ESV it says “In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’”
There are several verses on stewardship and giving instead of receiving. In our human minds we tend to go into selfish mode, and then it’s about MY needs, not the needs of others…
In Hebrews 13:16 “Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God.” and then in
Philippians 2:4 “Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.”

Unselfish acts of random kindness (ARK)… Doing good works because you WANT to not because you have to..
In the church, it is like pulling teeth to get anyone to help with a project. I appreciate that we all have stuff at home to do, but to serve because of God, and to help others shows the love of Christ…
So what does it take to have this unselfish desire to help others get stuff done… help someone financially when you are able…
You first have to realize that Jesus paid a price for you, so you are not your own. There are people that are worse off than we are.
There are things that need done within a church, and if we are getting fed there, how is it not a natural thing to want to do stuff around the church.
I guess this is more of a venting thing at “Christians” or those who profess to be
Christians…
I am a home body with strong ties to sitting on my butt and doing nothing, which is never what I get to do… Someone needs something, I help. If the church needs cleaned, I do it… if the yard needs mowed, I would be there if I had to..
Who are we to be fed in a church, and make excuses as to WHY we can’t!!
Jesus also said in Matthew 25, “For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ … ”
Doing for others is showing Christ. Helping out at the church and not complaining is showing Christ. Forgoing a family trip, or some type of thing that in the grand scheme of things is so unimportant, especially when there is someone that really needs you.
Maybe they need you to sit and pray with them, but you are too selfish to take the time.
Maybe someone needs you to do their yard work for them because you can’t… but you are tooooo ‘busy’
Are we too busy, too over our heads that we can not help God’s people realize that this single mothers needs friends and family to help her, that this distraught teen is so overwhelmed by being at home, she wants to cut herself…but we just have BIGGER problems… we say “I’ll pray for you” it’s like a way for us to say, yeah, it’s important, but it’s not MY problem, I’ll pray for you!!
Get out of the insanity, service to God and community is something that must come naturally to a Christian… Jesus never hesitated to die unselfishly on the cross because He knew that we need to be save…
Why are we not emulating Christ in this manner??

Leave a Reply

