What a trip!!

I do much reflecting. Mostly about where I am in Jesus today. Today was a bit different. As I was looking through my pictures of shaving cream on my face and on my head. Dressed in whacky costumes. Acting like a fool in public… I realized what God has done in me.
I grew up in a broken home, somewhat violent, and much abuse, both physically and mentally.
I won’t go into detail except that I never lived in one house for more than a year, and went to a different school about as much… I couldn’t make friends because I would have to leave… which drove me into a shell of loneliness and depression… If you asked me to speak in public, I would shut down. Go up to a complete stranger and strike up a conversation? UNTHINKABLE!!
It wasn’t until I submitted my heart and soul to Jesus Christ that I began to notice a change. I started slowly wanting to be around people (although, part of me is still struggling with that).. And noticed that people actually liked me! I grew up with kids that picked on me for my height, my looks, my behavior… and besides my dad telling me how stupid I was, my self-esteem was pretty much non-existent. So God has used that, to make me humble, to accept all the garbage that comes in my life, but to not shut people out, and to actually share myself with people.
These Pictures? That’s not ME… That is God IN ME…
That is God working in my spirit, in my bones, in my flesh, making me this wonderful creature that I was intended to be.
Stuck on myself? NEVER! I still don’t take compliments well, I still run into problems with self-esteem, and I am still a little shy, unless I am behind the cloak of the Spirit of God.
It’s a wonderful life…especially when you allow your mind to reflect. Look at my pictures.. look how shy I was, look at me now, and tell me that 1, God doesn’t have a sense of humor, and 2…LOOK at all the power He can work in a stubborn, abused, lonely, depressed, and boring individual…
Yeah. I’m pretty proud to be a child of God!
2 Corinthians says, “If any man be in Christ, he is a new creature, old things have passed away, BEHOLD….ALL things have become new!!! Praise God!

“He who sits in the heavens laughs; the Lord holds them in derision.” Psalm 2:4

Leave a Reply

